Biobanks

Asthma

Asthma biobank

The asthma biobank of Prof. Laprise comprises 1,448 DNA samples spread out in 254 extended families. Those French Canadian families are constituted of the proband, formerly recruited to the family members and the parents. Those are composed from 3 to 17 family members and the number of affected individuals among each of them varies from 1 to 10. The respiratory condition was evaluated following the criteria of the American Thoracic Society (metacholine test, forced expiratory volume in one second, serum IgE level, skin prick test, cell counts and several other data such as past medical reports, body mass index and medication). A Genome Wide Association Study (GWAS) was conducted with the Ilumina 610 K microarray and therefore the genotypes for more than 610 000 polymorphisms are available for 1,214 subjects. (Genes Immun. 2014 Mar 20)

More than 100 phenotypic data are available for the majority of the participants. For a complete description of the data, please feel free to contact Prof. Laprise.

Allergy

The recruitment at the St-Justine Hospital at Montreal allows to regroup 40 children suffering of peanut allergy and their parents. The DNA of those 120 individuals is available to validate some genetic studies conducted by other researchers.

French Canadian Leigh Syndrome

French Canadian Leigh Syndrome Biobank

The LSFC biobank was established in 2008 in Prof. Laprise’s lab at the Univeristé du Québec à Chicoutimi. This biobank, globally unique, comprises sample from 21 affected individuals (of whom 7 came from therapeutic pregnancy termination (TPT)), 14 carriers and 23 controls of whom 3 came from TPT). Fibroblasts isolated from skin biopsies (primary and immortalized), DNA, RNA, tissues from TPT (cortez, brain, cerebellum, heart, kidney, liver, muscle, etc) are available for the researchers member of the consortium and also for any researcher for which the research project have been scientifically and ethically approved by the consortium. The recruitment is constant and additional individuals joined the biobank each year.

Epidermolysis bullosa simplex (EBS)

Epidermolysis bullosa simplex (EBS) Biobank

In 2008, a biobank for the research on EBS was established in Prof. Laprise’s lab at the Univeristé du Québec à Chicoutimi. This biobank is the largest one for EBS in the world and comprises samples from 9 EBS patients and their paired (age and sexe) controls. Keratinocytes cell lines (primary and immortalized) and fibroblasts isolated from skin biopsies, DNA and RNA is available.

Échantillons biologiques

Asthme

Biobanque asthme

La biobanque d’asthme contient les échantillons d’ADN de 1448 personnes distribuées dans 254 familles élargies. Ces familles sont formées du proband, recruté préalablement aux membres de la famille et des parents et sont tous d’origine francophone canadienne. Elles sont composées de 3 à 17 membres familiaux et le nombre de personnes atteintes par famille varie de 1 à 10. La condition respiratoire des participants a été évaluée selon les critères de l’American Thoracic Society (test à la metacholine, volume expiratoire maximal en une seconde, taux d’IgE, test d’allergie à la piqûre, ainsi que plusieurs autres données telles que l’indice de masse corporelle, la médication, le décompte cellulaire, antécédents médicaux, etc. Une analyse de type Genome Wide Association Study (GWAS) a été conduite avec la puce 610 K d’Illumina. Ainsi, les génotypes pour plus de 610 000 polymorphismes sont disponibles pour 1214 sujets. (Genes Immun. 2014 Mar 20)

Plus de 100 données phénotypiques sont disponibles pour la majorité des participants. Pour une description complète, n’hésitez pas à contacter la Pre Laprise.

Allergie

Le recrutement par l’hôpital St-Justine de Montréal a permis de rassembler 40 enfants souffrant d’allergie aux arachides ainsi que leurs parents. L’ADN de ces 120 individus est disponible afin de valider certaines études réalisées par d’autres chercheurs.

Acidose lactique

Biobanque acidose lactique

La biobanque acidose lactique a été mise en place en 2008 au laboratoire de génétique humaine dirigée par la Pre Catherine Laprise à l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi. Cette biobanque, unique au monde, regroupe les échantillons provenant de 21 patients atteints de SLCF (dont 7 issus d’interruption thérapeutique de grossesse (ITG)), 14 porteurs et 23 témoins (dont 3 ITG atteints d’une autre maladie orpheline). Des fibroblastes isolés de biopsies de peau (primaires et immortalisés), de l’ADN, de l’ARN, et des tissus provenant des ITG (cortex, cervelet, tronc cérébral, foie, rein, cœur, muscle, pancréas) sont disponibles pour l’ensemble des chercheurs du consortium ou pour tout autre chercheur dont les recherches sont jugées pertinentes et valables. Le recrutement des patients est constant et l’ajout de matériel biologique se fait chaque année.

Epidermolyse bulleuse simple (EBS)

Biobanque épidermolyse bulleuse simple (EBS)

En 2008, une biobanque pour la recherche en EBS a été mise en place au laboratoire de génétique humaine dirigée par la Pre Catherine Laprise à l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi. Cette biobanque contient des échantillons provenant de patients atteints d’EBS qui sont appariés (pour l’âge et le genre) avec un témoin non atteint. Des lignées de kératinocytes (primaires et immortalisés) et fibroblastes isolés de biopsies de peau, de l’ADN et de l’ARN sont disponibles pour 9 cas-témoins.