Complex traits

Asthma

Asthma

In 2012, more than 2 million Canadians aged 12 years and older were asthmatic. Asthma is a chronic respiratory disease characterised by three key components: (1) obstruction and (2) inflammation of the airways, and (3) bronchial hyperactivity. Clinical symptoms include dyspnea, cough, and wheezing. Asthma is a complex trait with multiple genetic and environmental factors interacting to dictate disease pathogenesis. Air pollution (indoor and outdoor) and allergens (i.e. animal/pet danders, pollen, and dust) are some of the known environmental factors which can influence the development and severity of asthma.

Biobank

Prof. Laprise established an asthma biobank to archive a collection of 1,448 DNA samples in 254 extended families. The biobank is unique in the genetic characteristics of the recruited families. The proband of a recruited family must be an asthmatic individual with 4 French Canadian grandparents. A recruited family in the collection has between 3 to 17 family members and the number of affected individuals within the family ranges from 1 to 10. The respiratory health of the participants was evaluated according to the American Thoracic Society. (i.e. metacholine test, lung function tests, and skin prick test). Seriological data (i.e. cell counts and serum IgE levels) and medical history were gathered and documented. Gentoypes of more than 610,000 genetic polymorphisms, determined previously using the Illumina 610K microarry for a genome wide association study, are available for 1,214 subjects. (Genes Immun. 2014 Mar 20)

Canadian Institute for health research

Resolving Systems Epigenomes of T-cells in Autoimmune and Inflammatory Diseases (Co-principal chercheur: Tomi Pastinen)

A Three-Generation Canadian Study (CAN-3-GEN) on the Developmental Origins of Health and Disease (Chercheur principal: Malcolm Sears)

Genomic risk in asthma susceptibility accessed by next-generation integrative tools (Co-principal chercheur: Tomi Pastinen)

Projet équipe CEEHRC: Epigenetic mechanisms for the development of asthma (Chercheurs: Celia Greenwood, Catherine Laprise, Michael Kobor, Peter Paré, Anita Kozyrsky, Andrew Sandford, Aurélie Labbé, et Denise Daley)

Ongoing research projects

  • Comparative study of methylation profil og interleukin 4 pathway genes by pyrosequencing in an asthma case-control study
  • Methylome of CD4+ lymphocytes in the familial asthma collection of Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean (Collaborators: Dr Tomi Pastinen)
  • Eosinophils in asthma and allergy: caracterisation of epigenome and transcriptome (Collaborators: Dr Tomi Pastinen)
  • Evaluation of the cycstic fibrosis transmembrane-conductance regulator (CFTR) gene in individuals affected of chronic sinusitis and other respiratory diseases in the Saguenay-Lac-St-Jea population
  • Identification of rare variants in non-coding regulatory regions in allergic asthma (Collaborators: Andréanne Morin, Tomi Pastinen, Mark Lathrop, and Florence Demenais)
  • Integrative study of genetics and epigenetics in allergic asthma (Collaborators : Emmanuelle Bouzigon, Florence Demenais, Mark Lathrop, and Tomi Pastinen)
  • Epigenetic impact of the ZPBP2/ORMDL3/GSDMB region in asthma (Collaborators : Anna Naumova and Danuta Radzioch)
  • Study of autophagy genes in severe asthma (Collaborators: Audrey Poon and Qutayba Hamid)
  • Roles of CHRNA3 and CHRNA5 in asthma and lung Cancer (Collaborators: Audrey Poon, Valérie Gagné-Ouellet, Wan Lam, Stephen Lam and Qutayba Hamid)
  • Functional study of IL1R2 (Collaborators: Valérie Gagné-Ouellet and Jamila Chakir)
  • Functional study of ALOX15 as a potential therapeutic target in allergic asthma (Collaborators: Céline Bergeron, Élyse Bissonnette, Marie-Renée Blanchet, Inuk Bossé, Yohan Bossé, Louis-Philippe Boulet, Jamila Chakir, Qutayba Hamid, Nicolas Flamant, Michel Laviolette, Jean-Pierre Lavoie, Karim Magni, and David Marsolais)

Allergy

Allergy

Clinical manifestations from food allergies include rash, angioedema, rhinoconjunctivitis, voice change, bronchospam, vomiting, abdominal cramp, diarrhea, and/or anaphylactic shock. Peanut allergy is the principal cause of fatal anaphylactic shocks and its incidence has been increasing in the past 20 years. It is estimated that 1.1% or 3 million Americans are allergic to peanuts (including nuts). An allergic reaction occurs when the immune system produces immunoglobulin E (IgE) against specific proteins (eg: from food). When IgE comes in contact with these specific proteins, the mast cells are then signalled to release several inflammatory mediators including histamine, which elicit various clinical manifestations aforementioned. At present food allergies have no cures; however, several studies have reported genetic variants associated with peanut allergy. Hence, it is believed that peanut allergy is likely influenced by genetic and environmental factors.

Completed research project

As part of a large initiative of Allergen Excellence Network and a follow-up study of the work done by the CanGoFar research project, a case-control genetic association study was performed for HLADQ-B1 in relation to its association with peanut allergy. This project identified two allelic forms of HLADQ-B1 associated with peanut allergy (Eur J Hum Genet. 2013 Oct;21(10):1181-4). These findings will significantly impact peanut allergy prevention and management

Traits complexes

Asthme

Asthme

En 2012, au Canada seulement, on retrouvait plus de deux millions d’asthmatiques de 12 ans et plus. L’asthme est une maladie chronique des voies respiratoires caractérisée par trois éléments clés. Il s’agit de l’obstruction et de l’inflammation des voies aériennes, ainsi que de l’hyperactivité bronchique (HRB). Les symptômes cliniques sont la dyspnée, la toux ainsi que le sifflement lors de la respiration due à la diminution de la lumière des voies respiratoires. L’asthme est un trait complexe, ce qui signifie que plusieurs facteurs génétiques et environnementaux interviennent et interagissent dans le développement et la manifestation clinique de la maladie. La pollution de l’air extérieur et intérieur ainsi que les allergènes tels que les squames d’animaux, le pollen et la poussière sont quelques exemples de facteurs environnementaux pouvant influencer l’apparition de cette maladie.

Biobanque

La biobanque d’asthme contient les échantillons d’ADN de 1448 personnes distribuées dans 254 familles élargies. Ces familles sont formées du proband, recruté préalablement aux membres de la famille et des parents et sont tous d’origine francophone canadienne. Elles sont composées de 3 à 17 membres familiaux et le nombre de personnes atteintes par famille varie de 1 à 10. La condition respiratoire des participants a été évaluée selon les critères de l’American Thoracic Society (test à la metacholine, volume expiratoire maximal en une seconde, taux d’IgE, test d’allergie à la piqûre, ainsi que plusieurs autres données telles que l’indice de masse corporelle, la médication, le décompte cellulaire, antécédents médicaux, etc (ajouter ref de l’article GWAS-échantillon). Une analyse de type Genome Wide Association Study (GWAS) a été conduite avec la puce 610 K d’Illumina. Ainsi, les génotypes pour plus de 610 000 polymorphismes sont disponibles pour 1214 sujets. (Genes Immun. 2014 Mar 20)

Équipe des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada

Resolving Systems Epigenomes of T-cells in Autoimmune and Inflammatory Diseases (Co-principal chercheur: Tomi Pastinen)

A Three-Generation Canadian Study (CAN-3-GEN) on the Developmental Origins of Health and Disease (Chercheur principal: Malcolm Sears)

Genomic risk in asthma susceptibility accessed by next-generation integrative tools (Co-principal chercheur: Tomi Pastinen)

Projet équipe CEEHRC: Epigenetic mechanisms for the development of asthma (Chercheurs: Celia Greenwood, Catherine Laprise, Michael Kobor, Peter Paré, Anita Kozyrsky, Andrew Sandford, Aurélie Labbé, et Denise Daley)

Projets de recherche en cours

  • Étude comparative de la méthylation des gènes de la voie de l’interleukine-4 par pyroséquençage dans un échantillon d’asthme cas-témoins
  • Étude du méthylome des lymphocytes T CD4+ dans la collection familiale d’asthme du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean (Collaborateurs: Dr Tomi Pastinen)
  • L’éosinophile dans l’asthme et l’allergie : caractérisation de l’épigénome et du transcriptome ((Collaborateurs: Dr Tomi Pastinen)
  • Étude des mutations du gène cystic fibrosis transmembrane-conductance regulator (CFTR) chez des individus atteints de sinusite chronique et d’autres maladies respiratoires dans la population du Saguenay—Lac-St-Jean.
  • Identification des variants rares situés dans les regions régulatrices non-codantes dans l’asthme allergique (Collaborateurs: Andréanne Morin, Dr Tomi Pastinen, Mark Lathrop, Florence Demenais)
  • Étude intégrative de la génétique et de l’épigénétique de l’asthme allergique (Collaborateurs: Dr Emmanuelle Bouzigon, Florence Demenais, Mark Lathrop, Tomi Pastinen)
  • Impact épigénétique de la région ZPBP2/ORMDL3/GSDMB dans l’asthme (Collaborateurs: Dr Anna Naumova, Danuta Radzioch)
  • Étude des gènes de l’asthme sévère et de l’autophagie dans l’asthme (Collaborateurs: Dr Audrey Poon, Qutayba Hamid)
  • Étude fonctionnelle du gène IL1R2 (Collaborateurs: Valérie Gagné-Ouellet, Dr Jamila Chakir)
  • Étude fonctionnelle du gène ALOX15 comme cible potentiel de développement de traitement spécifique à l’asthme allergique (Collaborateurs:Dr Céline Bergeron, Élyse Bissonnette, Marie-Renée Blanchet, Inuk Bossé, Yohan Bossé, Louis-Philippe Boulet, Jamila Chakir, Qutayba Hamid, Nicolas Flamant, Michel Laviolette, Jean-Pierre Lavoie, Karim Magni, David Marsolais)
  • Étude de la génétique fonctionnelle de CHRNA3 et CHRNA5 dans l’asthme et le cancer du poumon (Collaborateurs: Dre Audrey Poon, Valérie Gagné-Ouellet, Dr Wan Lam, Stephen Lam, Qutayba Hamid)

Allergie

Allergie

Les manifestations cliniques des allergies alimentaire incluent des démangeaisons, un angioedème, une rhinoconjunctivite, des modifications vocales, des bronchospamsmes, des vomissements, des crampes abdominales, une diarrhée et/ou un choc anaphylactique. L’allergie aux arachides constitue la principale cause de choc anaphylactiques mortels et son incidence ne cesse d’augmenter depuis les 20 dernières années.  On estime à 1.1% ou 3 millions le nombre d’Américains souffrant de l’allergie aux arachides et aux noix. Une réaction allergique se produit lorsque le système immunitaire produit des immunoglobuline E (IgE) dirigés contre les protéines spécifiques (ex:protéines alimentaires). Lorsque les IgE entrent en contact avec ces protéines spécifiques, les mastocytes reçoivent le message de libérer des médiateurs inflammatoires tels que l’histamine, ce qui  cause les différents manifestations cliniques mentionnées plus haut. À ce jour, il n’existe aucun traitement contre les allergies alimentaires. Par contre, plusieurs études ont identifié des variants génétiques qui sont associés avec l’allergie aux arachides. Alors, il est pensé que l’allergie aux arachides soit influencée à la fois par l’environnement et par des facteurs génétiques.

Projet de recherche complété

Une étude d’association génétique cas-témoins a été menée dans le cadre de l’initiative du réseau d’excellence Allergen et pour faire suite aux travaux réalisés par le projet de recherche CanGoFar. Ce projet a étudié le lien entre le gène HLADQ-B1 et l’allergie aux arachides et a permis d’identifier deux allèles relié à cette maladie (Eur J Hum Genet. 2013 Oct;21(10):1181-4). Ces résultats vont modifier les politiques de prévention et de gestion de santé publique en matière d’allergie aux arachides.